One week to polling day

© Electoral Commission

Local government elections will take place in 32 London boroughs including Redbridge on Thursday 3 May 2018.

A person can vote if they are on the local government register in an area where elections are taking place and are:

  • Aged 18 or over on polling day
  • A British citizen
  • An Irish, EU or qualifying Commonwealth citizen

British citizens living overseas who are registered as overseas electors cannot vote in local government elections. Service voters stationed abroad are still eligible to vote in local government elections.

All polling stations open at 07.00 and close at 22.00.

Voters can choose from a list of candidates on the ballot paper who will either be part of a political party or standing as an independent candidate. In order to cast a vote, a voter should simply put an X (a cross) next to the one candidate for whom they wish to vote.

The electoral system used to elect councillors is ‘first past the post’. Under this system, the candidate with the most votes is elected first, then if required the candidate with the second highest number of votes is elected, then the third placed candidate. No candidate needs to get more than half of the votes cast.

In the event of a tie, then a candidate is selected by the drawing of lots (i.e. a method of selection by chance such as tossing a coin or picking a name out of a hat).

The relevant Local Government Returning Officer has overall responsibility for the counting of votes at their respective election. This includes ensuring Presiding Officers transport ballot boxes from polling stations to the count venue in a secure and timely manner. The relevant returning officer should take reasonable steps to begin counting the votes given on the ballot papers as soon as practicable after the close of the poll.

(Information provided by The Electoral Commission)

According to nomination papers published by Redbridge Council, the following candidates are standing for election as Borough Councillors on 3 May 2018:

Wanstead Village Ward

Crispin Acton (Liberal Democrats)
Jo Blackman (Labour Party)
David Bruck (Liberal Democrats)
Tony Csoka (Green Party)
Paul Donovan (Labour Party)
Michelle Dunn (Conservative Party)
Cedric Knight (Green Party)
Daniel Morgan-Thomas (Labour Party)
Scott Wilding (Conservative Party)
Steve Wilks (Conservative Party)
Elisabeth (Ann) Williams (Green Party)

Wanstead Park Ward

Sheila Bain (Labour Party)
Pat Bennett (Conservative Party)
Richard Kays (Conservative Party)
Paul Merry (Labour Party)
Christopher Pallet (Liberal Democrats)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s